Crying at the Movies


I sometimes laugh over the silliest things… like how unemotional I am when it comes to movies and how emotional other people can be! I know of (and personally know) a lot of girls who can tear up and cry very easily: that’s not a bad thing, I don’t think. It’s just I often giggle about how unemotional I am about the same movies other people ball over.  I’ve really surprised people when I admit that I do not cry over emotional films. I had one lady actually say to me, “That’s very surprising!”

So, the movies I do tear up while watching are very precious to me, because they are few and they have to be very powerful to actually get me to cry. In a sense, they are worth the tears. I’m trying to think of the different films in which I’ve teared up while watching. Three come to mind right away.

Beauty and the Beast: I teared up at the end of this one. I hadn’t seen it since I was maybe four. I know I loved it then, so I was in awe having all these flashbacks from the different scenes. And than the ending was just so amazing, and as the credits started I had to wipe away some tears. 🙂 Oh, it was beautiful.

Captain America the First Avenger: you are probably thinking, “Golly, of all things! She cried during a Marvel Superhero film???” Hey, even my sister teared up during this film! I, in fact, teared up twice while sitting in the theaters. Spoilers!! When Bucky died—because I did not see that coming and it was absolutely heartbreaking. And of course, the end dialogue as the Captain dived the huge killer plane into the ice while talking to Peggy. *Sobs* That was so sad and beautiful and sad and… *sobs some more*. End of Spoilers!!

Gift of the Night Fury: Okay… everyone who saw How To Train Your Dragon needs to see this half hour film. Because it shows more life of the village after the dragons are excepted and people actually care about Hiccup now. And because it is simply AWESOME! I found this on YouTube by accident and just about freaked out. “A SEQUEL!” The story was beautiful and fun with some great lines and everything. But the end with Hiccup and Toothless . . . oh my goodness. Well. I teared up. Badly. It was so beautiful. Oh my gosh. Well, to keep from rambling anymore, I will just say that I am now one of those crazy HTTYD fans and I just ADORE Hiccup and Toothless. (And no, I didn’t cry while watching the original.)

That’s all I can think of right now…I think I might have almost teared up at the end of Toy Story 3… can’t remember.

So, what films have you cried through and you thought it was totally worth it?

~Jamie

12 thoughts on “Crying at the Movies

  1. Hey Jamie!!! A few things before I comment on this post….;) I ALWAYS read your posts, but I often don’t get a chance to comment! So I’ll be catching up on comments now….be prepared for a ton of them!!! *hugs* I love you, and your blog!! ❤

    Ohhhhhh….I am a TOTAL BABY when it comes to movies. xD I've cried over countless movies…..the ones i can think of off of the top of my head are…..

    Tangled (yes, I cried during Tangled…in the movie theater!! xD)
    Up
    Toy Story 3 (sobbing like a BABY)
    Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith (the amount of hysteria this movie produced when watching it for the first time was insane.)
    The Muppets 2011 (long story…but I cried many times during this movie. xD For sentimental reasons. ;))
    It's A Wonderful Life
    How To Train Your Dragon: Gift of the Night Fury (I CRIED OVER THIS TOO!!!! AHHH LOVE THAT MOVIE!!!!! Seriously, I was sobbing JUST BECAUSE IT WAS ADORABLE!!!! xD)
    Love's Everlasting Courage (I think that's what it's called….and I bawled.)
    Love Comes Softly (wow……this produced hours worth of tears…xD)

    I'm sure there are many many many more on that list. XDDD Trust me, MANY MORE. xD

    Excellent post….on to comment on more! 😉

    1. Oh, goody, I’m excited to hear from you again! I understand about commenting; sometimes I have to just come back to comment at different times too! 🙂

      Lol, what a list! XD Some of those are tear-worthy, certainly! Revenge of the Sith is super sad but I actually didn’t cry through it. I think I surprised even myself!

      ~Jamie

  2. I’m not one to cry during movies. The only movie that I’ve teared up in was Soul Surfer. Great movie by the way, you should check it out!

    I haven’t seen HTTYD but after all the good reviews, I want to see it.

    P.S. Don’t forget that the Solo discussion is due tomorrow. 😀

  3. I rarely cry during movies. But I did during Captain America and…. and one part during Courageous.

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

