Stepping into The Kingdom


One thing us writers try to do is get immersed in the world of our story. It often helps if you have even a faint idea of what your world looks like. I like to use pictures because I get a clear idea that is somewhat close to what I’m picturing in my head.

The Kingdom in which my story takes place has remained kinda blank in my head so far. All I’ve pictured is rolling hills of green. But the feeling that I get now that I’ve done some plot developing is more of a woodsy place with trees and huge roads that are frequented by huge war horses and their knights.

Another thing that REALLY helps me with climbing into a different world is sound. If I can hear something that is out of the ordinary. To me, one of the loveliest sounds in the world is falling rain and rolling thunder. So, I’ve looked up a ton of rain clips on YouTube to listen to while I’m writing. Considering my world is always green, I think you can take that to mean it’s almost always raining!

One AWESOME rain effect I found is this page called Rainy Mood.com.Β  It’s a single web page that plays continual rain and I’ll be using it the most, no doubt. Do check it out if you’re interested, it sounds very real!

These are the pictures I’ll need to keep looking at while I write this coming month!

NaNo starts tomorrow! Boy; I actually think I’m ready! Let ‘er roll!

~Jamie

8 thoughts on “Stepping into The Kingdom

    1. I’m doing fine; it’s been very fun and I’m encouraged that I’ve been able to finally start getting my story out; it’s been bottled up for quite a while! I’m at 10,471 words right now. πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much for asking! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie Joyce

      1. I’m glad to hear it is going so well! It is a great feeling to let that first draft spill out–that’s one of my favorite parts of the writing process. πŸ™‚

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

