Get to Know Me By My Music


I felt like doing music today (inspired from THIS post by the J&J brothers). And this is totally a post on getting to know me better through the music I enjoy, love and remember. This is ‘short story’ post about music that’ effected my in different ways! And I’ve complied the questions below so you can do this too! If you do, let me know and I’ll come check it out!

Favorite TV series theme song: The Hercule Poirot Theme. Totally. Totally. Totally. I love Poirot and I LOVE his theme song. So…. mysterious, intriguing, dark: just like a detective theme song should be!

Song that reminds of you of most of your childhood: Rush Limbaugh’s Theme Song. Okay, you know when someone places Rush Limbaugh’s theme song as answer to this question, that the kid in question was completely raised conservative. Okay, this song rocks. And it’s been playing over our radio since before I was born. I’ve grooved with the tune my entire childhood; over lunch, in car rides, and in the evening over the internet when my Dad caught up with the shows he missed while at work. This song really captures up a million memories of my youth.

A song you remember from early childhood: Winnie the Pooh Theme Song. Totally. Captures my little girl childhood. I will forever and always have a spot for Pooh in my heart. My kids will grow up watching the same movies I did; which the Disney animal films. I wasn’t raised on the Princesses! I grew up with the Aristocats, The Jungle Book, Lady and the Tramp, and Fox and Hound. And, of course, Winnie the Pooh!

Song that you still love dancing to (literally or not, maybe you dance wildly to it in your head, that still counts!): Everybody Wants to Be A Cat.Β  It takes much self control to keep from breaking out in grooves when Nathan is re-watching this movie. I think my love for ragtime and big band probably came from watching this movie and hearing this song. πŸ˜€ When my sister and I watched this in our parents room when were younger, we’d jump up and down on their bed through the whole song (and caught our wind during the Duchess’s harp part!) I’m also probably the only person on earth who sings this song to our cat. I hold her like a dancing partner and sing it to her. She probably doesn’t understand a word of it… but hey! She’s a cat! She should hear it at least once in her nine lives…..

That song that sums up your confused emotions: Safe, by Britt Nicole. Sometimes I think this song was written for me. I was so captivated when I first heard. It really touched me, and it’s still a top favorite song. It’s also beautifully played!

Five score pieces: Could I do this post without posting a Star Wars theme? No sir. John Williams is the MAN! He is partly the reason why Star Wars is so supreme! I LOVE Luke’s theme! It’s so mysterious and emotional! I’ll go around the house or the grocery store and will just start randomly humming it!

Ben-Hur is in my top ten favorite films forever. And the soundtrack is my top favorite. My heart was nearly stilled when I first heard the overture, and it still gives me chills. One of the awards the film won was for it’s score!!!!

Captain America’s song! Totally 40’s like music (which I love)! By the way, next week my Mom is taking my sister to the dollar theater to see it and I get to go along! I’m SO EXCITED I COULD BUST! I’M DYING TO SEE THIS MOVIE AGAIN! GAH, I DON’T THINK I’LL MAKE IT . . . .

I bought this soundtrack on a whim and didn’t barely know what I was getting. This first track captivated me! It’s an old favorite…

I die a little every time I listen to this. EPIC. EPIC. EPIC. It’s the theme of my Knight Lavington for my NaNoWriMo book! I’ve been relistening to some epic music trying to find themes for everyone so I can listen to them when I write!

Your favorite epic score from an epic animated film: The Chariot Race. I love this movie and it’s score. This music is KILLER! It’s from the Prince of Egypt, a favorite movie!

A song or score which you’ve hunted for and hunted for and finally found: The Legend from The Black Stallion LOVE this movie to pieces. Horses are my second favorite creatures God ever made! This film still knocks the breath out of my from all the beautiful footage! And the music is GORGEOUS. I’ve hunted everywhere for this film’s score; the Library, stores, everywhere! Couldn’t find it. It finally dawned on me, “Duh! Check Youtube, you idiot!” I didn’t find the entire original score on there, but I found this one, which I’ve always loved, so it was a “Golden score!!!!” moment!

Most epic music video of the year (to you): Surrender Stronger I’m brought to tears nearly every time I watch this. Most epic thing ever. The flashbacks between Leia and Padme are so chilling and Luke’s lines at the end are so powerful. I’ll always have a little respect for Vadar because he rescued Luke at the end. So… I’ve saved the best for last!

To my friends, feel free to use my questions and give your own answers! I’d love to see your answers! i have them complied below for easy cut and paste. πŸ™‚

Favorite TV series theme song:

Song that reminds of you of most of your childhood:

A song you remember from early childhood:

Song that you still love dancing to (literally or not, maybe you dance wildly to it in your head, that still counts!):

Song that you still love dancing to:

That song that sums up your confused emotions:

Five score pieces

Your favorite epic score from an epic animated film:

A song or score which you’ve hunted for and hunted for and finally found:

Most epic music video of the year (to you):

~Jamie

9 thoughts on “Get to Know Me By My Music

  1. What a fun idea! I loved the Winnie the Pooh theme song…it makes me feel so happy! I may have to do this too πŸ˜€
    ~Lauren πŸ™‚

    1. Wow, Lauren, what an honor to get a comment from you! πŸ˜€ I’d love to see your choice of music!

      Ahh, another Winnie the Pooh lover!!!!! Yay!

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

