The Phantom Menace: A Star Wars Review


I realized I’ve been doing a lot of Disney reviews, so I know I needed to do a Star wars post now for all my SW friends! And looky at what I picked!

We have at last seen the Prequel series. And while I didn’t like them as much as the orginals, I still enjoyed them greatly. So, I decided that I should review them and get my opinions and thoughts out for my Star Wars friends to see. And today, I’m going to review the Phantom Meance, Episode I

This is actually number two on my list. I REALLY enjoyed this one, so I’m kinda surprised that a lot of people don’t care for it.

First off, I will say that Obi-Wan is the cream of the crop. Out of the entire series, besides Artoo and Threepio, Obi-Wan is my very favorite. When we were re-introduced to him this film, I knew right away that he was going to be a great character. I loved his relationship with Qui-Gon. The two were wonderful partners together. They were also the two characters whom I really felt bonded to, out of nearly the whole trilogy. And…Yoda too. But the bond I felt for Obi-Wan hardly compared to anything I felt for Padme, Anakin or any of the Jedi.

Young Anakin is one of the cutest little kids I’ve ever seen. I loved his devotion to his mother. That was very touching. I liked his style of talking and logic; very simple and childlike.

Padme was cute too, but throughout the three movies nothing ever happened to were I became attached to her or really cared for her. Probably the only time was when she was giving birth. But, honestly, she didn’t grab my attention or heart like Leia did in A New Hope. I admired Padme’s shooting skills, but I can’t say I can think of anything that really made me love her that much. I know, you guys are probably mad at me, but it’s true.

And, the villain Darth Maul: oh boy. I loved that character! You just could hate with glee. Not only did I just love to despise him, but I’d already bonded with Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon, so when the three of them started to their duel I got really into it!

My two favorite parts were the podrace and the final duel with Darth Maul, which was EPIC. The fight is my one of my top favorite lightsaber fights ever. Very epic, very awesome.

Do not watch if you have not already seen the movie. You are warned: there are spoilers. However, if you are like me and read or watch anything no matter wheather you worry about spoilers or not, help yourself. It’s up to you.

So, y’all now know this is my second favorite prequel film. I’ll start working on my review of Attack of the Clones soon. 🙂

~Jamie

6 thoughts on “The Phantom Menace: A Star Wars Review

  1. I liked Phantom Menace but, out of all the Star Wars films, it is my least favorite. JC is right, TPM is outdated and old. I haven’t actually watched it in probably 5 years. Plus, I’m a Jar Jar hater so he gets on my nerves a lot. 😉

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

