A New Hero of Mine

I just got back from seeing this movie at the theater.

OH. MY. WORD.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was my first PG-13 movie, but there was no blood and guts, or anything, so it wasn’t bad at all. There were some intense parts though, but I loved it. I also thought it was cool how it was more like a war movie than a superhero movie. Because it was certainly more at World War II that superhero fantasy. Though it ABSOLUTELY scifi considering some of the weapons being used and all.

Full movie review coming up AFTER my sister watches it. I’m not going to spoil it for her, because it’s totally worth it.Go see this in theaters if you can, it is so worth it! I hope that we can buy it once it comes out on DVD. I think it’s hit my top ten favorite films.

And here’s why.

The hero; his name’s Steve. And he wants to fight the bullies in Germany–but he’s small and scrawny in stature. But he has the heart of a champion, is self sacrificing, and compassionate. He is therefore chosen by a scientist to be turned into a super-solider.

What I loved best about Steve was not his looks, or new-huge muscles, or any of his new Captain America gear. It’s his heart. His heart was good, loving and kind not just when he was a superhero, but when he was skinny and small too. It was what was inside him that I loved the most. That’s what made him as big as he became.

I was so excited about that message, considering it’s what also drew me to ‘Beauty and the Beast’. It’s not what you are, or what you look like, or how wealthy you are, or your status. It’s what’s going on in your heart. And if your heart is full of things that are of God, that ‘s what counts.

Steve is now a new hero of mine.

Go watch the movie. See if he becomes one of yours, too.

~Jamie Joyce

13 thoughts on “A New Hero of Mine

  1. Thank you so much for saving it for me! I am so excited to watch it! I love the message of, what’s inside counts. It will be nice to find a new hero.

  2. I saw it yester day also! It is one of my favorite movies of all time! Captain America has been my favorite comic book superhero years before the movie has come out. After Star Wars Marvel comics are my favorite franchise. I will write a review after I post the Top 25 movie heroes.

    1. No and I nearly killed myself later when I found out there was something extra! If your comfortable, feel free to fill me in on what I missed! 😛

      ~Jamie Joyce

      1. After the credits there was a trailer for the new Avengers movie. The Avengers are a team of superheroes and the members are Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow, Hawkeye and Nick Fury. YouTube has removed all of the videos of the Avengers trailer because of copyright issues but I was able to find a video with a 1/4 of the trailer of Avengers movie I posted it at the end of of the Captain America movie review. I will write a post about the Avengers when there is more info about it but I don’t know how long it will be before there is some. I highly recommend you watch Spider-Man, Iron Man, X-Men and any other Marvel movie. After the credits of most Marvel movies there is something extra. I hope this helps. 🙂

      2. Hey, thanks for the information! I’d love to see the new Spider Man movie; we’ll see if my parents want to take me! 😛

        ~Jamie Joyce

  3. Sounds like it could be a good movie. I think Daddy wants to see it. I’m reserving any anticipation until I know what he thinks of it! lol 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

