The Droids: Where Would the Trio be without the Dou?

Where would any of them be without Threepio and Artoo?

If Artoo hadn’t delivered his message; Luke wouldn’t have become of the hero of the galaxy, Leia would have been exterminated, and Han would still have a death sentence over his head.

And without Threepio to suggest  to Luke that he should take Artoo instead of the ‘red one’, who knows what might have happened!

I love how Lucas used the lowliest of the low in the Star Wars status to bring together a most amazing set of people and places; two droids brought together royalty, ruffian and a nobody; all three who would work together and be the key to crashing down the empire. 🙂

And, all along the way, Threepio and Artoo would be a great help to them; whether in interrupting Huts and Ewoks (and using their divine influence on some of them) for their understanding, or cutting up traps, throwing lightsabers, transmitting messages, or simply being a help and comfort.

OWEN
I have no need for a protocol droid.

THREEPIO
(quickly)
Sir — not in an environment such as
this — that’s why I’ve also been
programmed for over thirty secondary
functions that…

OWEN
What I really need is a droid that
understands the binary language of
moisture vaporators.

THREEPIO
Vaporators! Sir — My first job was
programming binary load lifter…
very similar to your vaporators. You
could say…

OWEN
Do you speak Bocce?

THREEPIO
Of course I can, sir. It’s like a
second language for me… I’m as
fluent in Bocce…

OWEN
All right shut up!
(turning to Jawa)
I’ll take this one.

THREEPIO
Shutting up, sir.

                                     THREEPIO
(pointing to Artoo)
Excuse me, sir, but that R2 unit is
in prime condition. A real bargain.

LUKE
Uncle Owen…

OWEN
Yeah?

LUKE
What about that one?

OWEN
(to Jawa)
What about that blue one? We’ll take
that one.

With a little reluctance the scruffy dwarf trades the damaged
astro-droid for Artoo.

LUKE
Yeah, take it away.

THREEPIO
Uh, I’m quite sure you’ll be very
pleased with that one, sir. He really
is in first-class condition. I’ve
worked with him before. Here he comes.

Owen pays off the whining Jawa as Luke and the two robots
trudge off toward a grimy homestead entry.

LUKE
Okay, let’s go.

THREEPIO
(to Artoo)
Now, don’t you forget this! Why I
should stick my neck out for you is
quite beyond my capacity!

Han takes Leia by the hand and steers her away from Lando.

THREEPIO
Hello, sir.  I am See-Threepio,
human-cyborg relations.  My
facilities are at your…

Before Threepio can finish his self-introduction, Lando has turned to
follow Han and Leia, who are walking toward the city.

THREEPIO
Well, really!

THREEPIO
Oh, my head. Oh, my goodness!

When the Ewoks see Threepio, they let out a gasp and chatter among
themselves. Threepio speaks to them in their native tongue. The Ewok
nearest him drops his spear and prostrates himself before the droid. In
a moment, all the Ewoks have followed suit. Chewie lets out a puzzled
bark. Han and Luke regard the bowed creatures in wonder. The Ewoks
begin to chant at Threepio.

LUKE
Do you understand anything they’re saying?

THREEPIO
Oh, yes, Master Luke!  Remember that I am fluent in over six million
forms of
communication.

HAN
What are you telling them?

THREEPIO
Hello, I think… I could be mistaken. They’re using a very primitive
dialect.  But
I do believe they think I am some sort of god.

Chewbacca and Artoo think that’s very funny. Han and Luke exchange
“what next?” looks.

HAN
Well, why don’t you use your divine influence and get us out of this?

THREEPIO
I beg your pardon, General Solo, but that just wouldn’t be proper.

HAN
Proper?!

THREEPIO
It’s against my programming to impersonate a deity.

Han moves toward Threepio threateningly.

HAN
Why, you–

Several Ewoks’ spears are thrust in Han’s face at the affront to their
god. The Ewoks move in to protect their god and Han is surrounded by a
menacing circle of spears, all aimed at him. He holds up his hands
placatingly.

HAN
My mistake. He’s an old friend of mine.

Look! Leia does like Threepio!

We all should remember these two and be grateful for the help they give our heroes. Those three wouldn’t be the same without these two. Ever.

~Jamie Joyce

8 thoughts on “The Droids: Where Would the Trio be without the Dou?

  1. I love it in Return of the Jedi how they are suppose to be given as a “gift” and Threepio is shocked but R2 knew all about it. 🙂
    And you are right without the droids there wouldn’t be a story.

    1. LOL that’s one of the best parts! “Artoo! You’re playing the wrong message!” Poor guy; the last thing he was excepting was to be turned into a gift for a slug!

      🙂

      ~Jamie Joyce

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

