Leia: Princess, Rebel, Sister, and ‘Sweetheart’


Leia (Skywalker) Organa is one of the center characters of the Original Star Wars Trilogy. If it hadn’t been for her capture by Darth Vadar, Luke would never have joined the Rebellion; meaning, he wouldn’t have been there to blow up the Death Star.

Considering the politics of this galaxy, there were many women senators, which Leia was one; and the youngest of any. Representing her planet and giving diplomatic speeches had given this young lady a strong toughness and knew how to speak well. She was used to have her orders carried out, and played to win.

Leia also trained with weapons and became a master with a blaster. Combining this with her strong personality of tough leadership, and you have one of the commanders of the Rebel Alliance.

Her relationship with Luke had always been a brother-sister interaction; how she must have felt to really be his sister must have been a large surprise.

And her romance with Han Solo, stretched out over three films, was on the refreshing side. A lot of romances feel weird and rushed when it’s crammed into one film, but stretching theirs into three really gave it a depth of first learning to respect each other, then be affectionate and then to at last love.

I heard a saying once comparing Leia to Rose of ‘Titanic’ and how Leia tops her. “Rose braves icy water to save her man. Leia braves Jabba the Hut.”

We follow her journey as she sends pleading messages for help . . .

getting her help…..her help for the rest of her future….

Finding love and then having it taken away from her….in a very painful way…

…learning family secrets…

And helping bring down the second death star.

“Governor Tarkin, I should have
expected to find you holding Vader’s
leash. I recognized your foul stench
when I was brought on board.”

“Aren’t you a little short to be a
stormtrooper?”

“I’d just as soon kiss a Wookiee.”

“You don’t have to do this to
impress me.”

LEIA
I love you!

HAN
I know.

“We have powerful friends. You’re gonna regret this…”

Courage and compassion. Sarcasm and sweetness.

Princess and Rebel.

Sister and ‘Sweetheart’.

Leia.

~Jamie Joyce

12 thoughts on “Leia: Princess, Rebel, Sister, and ‘Sweetheart’

  1. Beautiful Post Jamie!!! πŸ˜€ I loved it!!! And all the pictures! Lets just say my ‘Leia Pics’ Library will have several new sisters. XDDD Awesome! Leia always has been, and always will be one of my favorite characters!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. This one is gotta be my favorite post! I. Love. It. Awesome selection of pictures! Can’t wait to see the rest.

  3. Some of those were really good pictures! Though I would like to point out that that is NOT the scene where Leia tells Han that Luke is her brother… Just because I’m a little picky about details like that. :p

  4. She tells Han that Luke is her brother, right after the death star blew up in the sky. In that scene she just cries. :p I know… I’m over picky. I just have an annoying memory when it comes to movies!! :p

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

