Chicken Run: A Film Review


“While the chickens on Mrs. Tweedy’s farm dream of a better life, a clever hen named Ginger is hatching plans to fly the coop for good. The only problem is, chickens can’t fly, or can they? Every escape attempt goes fowl until Rocky, a smooth-talking All-American rooster, crash lands in the coop. It’s hardly poultry in motion when Rocky attempts to teach Ginger and her fine feathered friends to fly, but, with teamwork, determination, and a little bit of cluck, the fearless flock plots one last daring attempt in a spectacular bid for freedom.”

First Thoughts: I was kinda thinking “eh, it might be okay”. When I found out it was clay animation I became even more ‘iffy’. I was expecting it to be funny, though, and it delivered.

Setting: The setting is England, on Mrs Tweedy’s farm. 🙂 It was suppose to look like a Nazi camp, too….

Characters: The characters were very well done; you could tell all most of the chickens apart and they had different personalities, so you aren’t likely to be getting them mixed up. Ginger, the lead hen in all the escapes, was spunky but kind and thoughtful. Rocky, an American Rhode Island Red, was funny; I liked him quite a bit.  The two salesmen rats were hilarious; and Mrs Tweedy was made a perfectly horrid antagonist. And her poor husband, Mr Tweedy, was also hilarious. PSHT. Everyone is hilarious….

Film Quality: For being clay animation, it was really good!! 🙂 The music worked with it really, really well, too.

Plot: The plot was good. It was a good story, good characters, good lines, and good hilarity.

Dislikes: Eh, the romance. Small as it was, it was unneeded and awkward. Didn’t like it….

Final Thoughts: Good film for the family (thought it has some intensity for younger children). Very funny and clean. See it if you can. 🙂

PS. You can watch the trailer on my second playlist. 🙂

~Jamie Joyce

4 thoughts on “Chicken Run: A Film Review

  1. Yeah, it was cute. Kinda grim in a way but there was a lot of funny parts too.
    The whole ‘fences are bad’ message was kinda predictable… 😐 I thought the romance was just plain crazy! THERE CHICKENS!!! Come on’ dude! LOL.

    Sorry.

  2. I won’t give you my tirade about Rocky… 😀

    The music was pretty good. It was John Powell though, so I suppose I should expect that, eh? (He did “How to Train Your Dragon” and “Bolt”.)

    The romance? Cut! That or at least, make it barely there! Those weird shaped birds even giving each other a hug, was awkward to say the least.

    I think we’ve got a “puddle pete” in Mr. Tweedy! Goodness! Mrs. Tweedy? My goodness! All that at the end should have killed her!!

    I will agree that it was funny. Several parts were hilarious. I loved the scotch hen… and the knitter was so funny…

    I’ll be quiet now… 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  3. @Rebekah, I wasn’t even going to say anything about Rocky, but I thought he was AWFUL. The knitter-hen was my favorite hen! (I didn’t really like Ginger)

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

