A Star Wars Tribute–name yet to be released


“Greetings; I am twenty-five years old–or about there. I was born on Tatooine, but I have been to so many places so many times that, until now, I have never claimed a place or person for home.

My history is blurred and my early memory faint. I only had my name. And what people had told me.

They said I had his same spirit–sharp, witty, and not to be played with.

How true it is; how true it is to us both.

They say I have his looks and features; sturdy and slim. Brown eyes and brown hair.

It was not till I met him for the first time did I realize how true it was.

They say we both have the same disposition; sarcastic and sly. Steady and smart.

How we both learned to be responsible is beyond my imagination.

They said the dare-devil nature ran in our blood.

He flies through empire fighters like it was eating breakfast; me—eh, fifty charging stormtroopers? I can handle that. We’ve got ways.

They said that only us could take on dangers and difficulties like we had and come out on top ready for more.

“Bring ‘em on!” we both have said—and we both have meant it.

Master Luke knew all this too; he said to me, “I believe you may be related to a very dear friend of mine” and brought me to him.

And when I saw him for the first time; standing like a general with a beautiful woman under his arm and a Wookie by his side; standing like he had gone through more than lasar shots and carbonite–I knew. I knew by his eyes that he had learned to take care of more than just himself but others too.

He was no longer the famous spice smuggler that I had heard so much about. He was now one of the greatest man in the galaxy–a man of responsibility.

We love him for who he is; a tough competitor, a dare-devil driver, an out-smarting Rebel, a loving husband and friend—and my older brother.

And I knew.

I knew that I had found my home.

I had found Han Solo.

My name is Ji. I am a survivor. A fighter. A Jedi.

And I am a Solo.”


I don’t normally write SW fan fiction but that is what this is–sorta. This piece was inspired from my sister trying to fill out a SW tag–and telling me, “your last name is Solo; you’re related to Han”. Then I decided to have some fun and fill out the background of my newly created SW ‘character’, Ji (originally ‘Henrietta’).

This post began as a character outline, but it turned into a tribute to Han Solo and the changes we see in him throughout the original SW trilogy; a ruffian turned Rebel; a loner turned protector. I thought it was a unique tribute because I told it through the eyes of his younger sister whom he didn’t even know he had–an outsider who could see the changes and marvel; someone who had at last found her family and her identity–being a Solo.

And Ji? Well, I was able to use her for a good writing exercise. As to more writing with her—eh,  I don’t think I will attempt much more SW fanfiction in the future…

And the name is “I am a Solo”. I didn’t want to write that because I wanted to keep you in the dark as long as possible. 🙂

Any of your thoughts are welcome. 🙂

~Jamie Joyce (or Ji Solo *wink*)

Another good post about Han Solo’s change in the trilogy can be found HERE. Do read it. The first half is about Anakin and his painful downfall. The second half is about Han and his growth towards learning to love others. It’s very good–and proof that I’m not the only one who likes good ol’ Han.

24 thoughts on “A Star Wars Tribute–name yet to be released

  1. Ha ha. That is fun. (I personally thought the ending part was a little dramatic, but that’s just me) Ji is a good galactic sounding name. So, in SW fiction, we’re still related right? I’m thinking I still would rather be a Skywalker! Can I do that instead of Organa?

    1. It’s suppose to be dramatic . I was telling the story of two epic people here!!!!

      I don’t know how your going to pull it off—unless you’re a distant cousin. Work it out so that you KNOW how you’re related and it SOUNDS believable. After all, I worked out how Ji is Han’s sister; how it worked and how she is able to be a Jedi and not him. 😛

      ~Jamie Joyce

  2. Fine. Then I am Luke and Leia’s distant cousin.
    Eye don’t no fur sur. Jest take my wurd fur it. < can you read that?

  3. ^^^^ I don’t really know why I wrote that, that way. Maybe just for a change of pace.
    Anyway, I really must stop now.

  4. I think you two are nuts! Really, I do! Han Solo and Luke Skywalker are not related… *coughhackcough* UNTIL he marries Luke’s sister! Goodness gracious! You girls are nuts!!!

  5. *sighs in relief* Somehow that’s how it came off to me… Sorry. Probably the Jedi thing… though it still sounds odd to give Han a relation that is a Jedi – a blood relation that is, that isn’t one of his children. (since of course he had Jedi children, being married to a Jedi)… They must have had different mother’s then… Though there never seemed to be many female Jedi…

    Alright, I’ll stop rambling… 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    1. Yes, that’s how it works; they have different mothers. I do want to point out that you don’t have to be a Jedi for your children to be. You must be force sensitive, or, have the right amount of a certain chemical in genes to pass on. I read in one of my SW books that it’s the amount of this chemical that makes a child force-sensitive. What makes a force sensitive being a Jedi is if they study and learn how to use it. 🙂

      An example about the chemical would be Anakin. They say he had so much of this chemical in his body that even when both his legs and arms were chopped off and he lost all that blood, he still had enough of that chemical in his body to still be force-sensitive: meaning he had a lot of it!!!

      I hope that helps explain it better. 🙂

      ~Jamie Joyce

  6. Hi Jamie!!!!! That was AMAZING!!!!! 😀 I should know, I LOVE fanfiction!!!!! I really do love it, and your story was great!!! 🙂 I really would love to read more! 🙂 I love creating OCs for SW stories. I have one. 🙂 Actually, I have a LOT. xDD I created several Original Characters for a fanfic I wrote for NaNoWriMo last year, and then I have Fallon Sunstar, who is my personal character. 🙂 Great work, keep writing!!!
    Love,
    Jedi~Chick (or Fallon Sunstar….xD)

    1. Thank you so much for your opinion! I’m glad you liked it! I’ve read some of your short stories you’ve posted on your blog, they’re good too!!!!! 🙂
      😉

      ~Jamie Joyce

  7. To Rebekah: Yes we know you think we are nuts. BTW I am a very salty Jedi nut. (Can girls biblicaly be Jedi? I hope so. If they can then I am a Jedi Nut)
    – or Kayla

    1. I do know there are female Jedi and Jedi’s are not necessarily warriors. It means they have cultivated the force and know how to use it. When it comes to battle, they use it to help defeat and defend. 🙂

      ~Jamie Joyce

    1. You are related to Chewie?!?!? That makes you a . . . . . *cough* force-sensitive Wookie…..LOL

      Has Moriah seen this, and is she giving herself a name? I could just imagine one of her choices….

      ~Jamie Joyce

  8. Uh… Related to Chewie??? Who is that, Nechet or Moriah?? Both of you are far to pretty to be a wookie!!! 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  9. Whoever it is, that is pretty funny good idea! Wookies are brave, loyal and tall. So just being a Wookie isn’t too bad…

    And Jamie, that is good that we can still be Jedi’s. 😀 Only I’m not Force sensitive- I’m Faith Sensitive. 😉

  10. I am so sorry I haven’t seen this before!!! It is really great!! 😀 I am just going back through some of the blog posts whcih i am missed 😀

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

