*Cough* Recipe Commentary


I’ve had this idea in my head for a long time, but I haven’t ever gotten around to doing it. I was thinking that it would be fun to post recipes here on my blog. I’ve done it before on the family blog, but not here. So, I thought maybe today I would do that.

So, I thought I would post the recipe to our favorite lemon bars. We just made these in the past month for Grandma, because she loves lemon bars. I’d forgotten how good they were because we normally only make them when she and Grandpa come, but they were so good I thought that we should make them more regularly. Hopefully by posting the recipe I’ll remember to do that! Oh, I don’t have a picture. Sorry. Hopefully the cupcake makes up for it. *grin*

Okay. ‘Let’s start at the very beginning. A very good place to start.” *cough* sorry, I’m in a musical mood right now. But, you get the idea.

CRUST:

1 cup of butter (I love butter. Butter and chocolate. I’m happy.)

1/2 cup gran sugar (I love sugar too. Sugar! Sugar!)

2 cups all-purpose flour (gasp. Yes, Mom did use all-purpose flour. Normally we just substitute for whole wheat flour, but not this time. I guess. Oh well.)

 

Okay, it says, “Blend and press into bottom of an ungreased 9X13″ pan.Bake 15 to 20 minutes in 350 degree oven until firm and golden”. Wow. Easy. Seriously. That’s easy.

LEMON TOP:

6 eggs (I can’t wait till our chickens start laying!)

1 3/4 c sugar (sugar again! Whoopee!)

6 Tbs all-purpose flour (Golly, again? Hmm.)

1 cup lemon juice (simple if you have a lemon tree, like us. Or if you keep the juice frozen. That’s what we do too.)

Zest of 1 lemon. (Ah-ha! There’s where some of that flavor is coming from!)

By the way, am I the only person out there who posts commentary on the ingredients?!

Now, the rest of the instructions are as follows: “Mix above ingredients until frothy. Pour over hot crust, return to oven for additional 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire rack. Dust with powdered sugar.” DON”T forget that powdered sugar! It looks so pretty on top.

I think I want to make this!

~Jamie Joyce

10 thoughts on “*Cough* Recipe Commentary

  1. I thought the lemon bars were a little sour if you asked me…. funny recipe! -K

  2. They sound good! I do commentary on ingredients sometimes… though it’s never really funny. ๐Ÿ˜€

    You know you shouldn’t love sugar… I’ve told you time and again. ๐Ÿ˜€

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  3. ^Kayla, I know you thought it was a little sour…*sigh* It’s suppose to be!!!!! It’s a LEMON bar! LOL.

    Rebekah, does that mean my commentary WAS funny?! I’m not surprised if it was…it was suppose to be. I find that lots of people skip over recipes a lot of times (sometimes I do) ..mostly because they either don’t like reading recipes or it’s too slow…adding commentary actually gets their interest and then they read it! Lol

    Oh, dear. *shakes head* Here we go again . . . .

    ~Jamie Joyce

  4. SO WHY ARE YOU STATING THAT YOU THOUGHT THE BARS WERE A LITTLE SOUR, LIKE THEY WEREN’T SUPPOSED TO BE?!?!?! *Sigh* You are saying ‘Duh’ to yourself, of course….

    ~Jamie Joyce

  5. Why do you always say things and then say that you meant something different?!?! You are just used to eating very sweet desserts!!!!!!

    I wasn’t the one confused about lemons equaling sourness….

    ~Jamie Joyce

  6. Yes, Jamie, it was funny.

    And yes, here we go again – Sugar is a treacherous thing to love!!

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

