Guess Where I Am?


Will these names trigger anything?

Anthony Daniels. Carrie Fisher. Peter Mayhew. Mark Hamill. Harrison Ford.

No?

How about something like . . . a leather clothed villain. Lasar-shooting guns. A rebelling group of people. A sword from the universe . . .

No? Really?!

If this below doesn’t do anything to you then I’ll fall over dead.

“General Kenobi, years ago you served my father in the Clone Wars. Now he begs you to help him in his struggle against the Empire. I regret I am unable to present my father’s request to you in person, but my ship has fallen under attack, and I’m afraid my mission to bring you to Alderaan has failed. I have placed information vital to the survival of the Rebellion into the memory of this R-2 unit … my father will know how to retrieve it. You must see this droid safely delivered to him on Alderaan. This is our most desperate hour … Help me Obi Wan-Kenobi, you are my only hope.” ~Leia

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yes. I’m in that amazing world of Star Wars.

Give me some slack if I say it’s the most amazing film I’ve ever seen. I’ve not been exposed to Lord of the Rings. I’ve not been exposed to the Chronicles of Narnia. I haven’t seen all these animated, 3D films that have been coming out. Heck, I haven’t even seen Toy Story! Now you know how much I mean it when I say the most amazing film I ever saw was Star Wars.

Left to Right; Mark Hamill (Luke), Carrie Fisher (Leia), Peter Mayhew (Inside the costume of Chewbacca, the Wookie) and Harrison Ford (Han Solo)

I’ve seen two of them now; A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back. As to Return of the Jedi; Mom still needs to get Dad’s permission for us to see that one…we will have to watch it without him because there is some alarming immodesty in that one. . .

So I’ve only seen the first two; and both of them only once. Well . . . I love the library. The library has some awesome books on how Star Wars was made. . . .Yep, I loaded up. Yesterday I went with Dad to his dentist appointment and Fry’s Electronics . . . I spent the whole time reading ‘The Making of Star Wars. The Definitive Story Behind the Original Film’. It’s a huge book. 313 pages. Chock full of inspiration art, pictures of the acting and filming taking place. Lots of information from the different actors. Well….I was so into the book I didn’t even realize how much time had gone by.

Left to Right: Kenny Baker (Inside R2-D2) Mark Hamill (Luke) Anthony Daniels (Inside C-3PO) and Sir Alec Guinness (Obi Wan-Kenobi, or just plain Ben)

Someday I’ll have to go into pros and cons of the movies; it has its worldview issues, as every film does. My biggest issue with the series is ‘The Force’, which some Christians like to claim is an allegory of God, but it’s not. It’s pantheism. And I don’t like it. At all. So that means I’m not that big on Obi Wan (who is such a dear fellow) and Yoda (who, to me, right now, is just kinda odd). There are other small issues, but I’m more in the mood for cheering than criticising. If I get in the mood one day, you’ll probably find a post stating more of the problems of Star Wars. However. This is not that day. 😀

Yoda and Luke

I, of course, now want to blab now about my favorite characters.

When I saw the first movie, I was so blown away that I really couldn’t even think of who I liked best for the first couple of weeks. When we sat down and watched, I was too busy looking as glazed as a zombie–soaking this new cinema experience up–that I was too dazed to really think about who I liked best. I came to the conclusion that I liked Luke Skywalker best, and my next favorite was C-3PO, because he actually gave the film some humor. However, I didn’t stop there.

C-3PO can sometimes annoy people into either shutting him up or shutting him down

Reading through the different books, I slowly was able to shake off the last of ‘wow-wow’ thoughts that were in my head as the characters became more defined. We watched the Empire Strikes Back a couple of weeks ago. And after that film I knew exactly who my favorite character was. Guess. No, it was not Han Solo (surprised even myself). He’s Han Solo’s companion, though. . . .

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yeah…I fell for Chewbacca. Completely. He had such a large part in ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ and I simply loved him–even though I couldn’t understand a thing he says. His loyalty to not only Han, but the rest of gang, was so touching. I loved it when he was in the dump section scrambling to gather the broken, scattered pieces of C-3PO, quite distressed. He was ready to tare the entire group of stormtroopers up when they were about to freeze Han into carbon (I was so mad about that. How could they do that poor Han?! I wanted to cry). And I wanted to cheer when Chewie and Leia ran into that traitor Landro, and he started choking him. That exactly what I wanted to do! Anyway . . . he was so thoughtful, loving, and tried his best to help. So my favorite Star Wars character is Chewbacca the Wookie.

Han and Chewie from The Empire Strikes Back

Of course, you can’t understand a word he ever says. You have to rely on a translation for Han or C-3PO to ever figure out what he says…and he doesn’t say much. But that’s one of the neat things about him. He’s so unique. He’s so fuzzy. He’s so . . . BIG. Ha, no wonder I like him. I like big everything . . .

And he makes the perfect pair for Han. 😀 You’re super, Chewie!

Now I want to post a couple of my favorite pictures that I’ve found. You can’t blame me. This is a new world . . . . . . .

My Four Favorite Characters
The Princess
Stormtrooper--their bad, if you didn't know
Aren't they the cutest?
Luke Skywalker; The Hero
He's a horrible villain, but I love his leather outfit and cape!!!
Empire Strikes Back
Absolutely LOVE Han's smile!

And my favorite picture forever?!

It’s this one. It reminds me of myself and Ben, my cousin. The smiles. The trust. It’s all there. It’s my favorite.

Now as whether I recommend Star Wars . . . I’ve only seen two of the six that’s been made. I recommend the first, A New Hope. It has the good old-fashioned heroism in Luke. There are those loveable characters like C-3PO and R2-D2. Leia is rather feministic, but I saw her ‘giving orders’ as just something she did because…well…she’s royalty. She’s used to giving commands. It doesn’t excuse the fact that she’s a feminist, but it’s gives the reason why she is. You’ve got the handsome, trigger happy character in Han Solo, the space pirate (I love him too, but Chewie better). And, of course, Chewbacca, but he doesn’t have that big of a role in the first one. And then, Darth Vadar, who is so unique. His guzzled breathing. His black outfit (I love his cape). His voice. And, of course, you have to wade through all the ‘force’-power’ talk, but that’s just what comes with the package. It’s a very enjoyable movie. It’s got a great plot. The score is AWESOME (I love John Williams). And the special effects can blow up you mind, especially if you haven’t been spoiled with the new, way-bigger movies that have come out since then, like Lord of the Rings. Which, I haven’t. So there. 😛

Now, as to the Empire Strikes Back…it has kissing. Not as much as I expected, and they weren’t that long either. Leia and Han bicker a lot; sometimes it’s rather funny and sometimes it’s just downright tiresome. The humor in this one seemed to double, which was great (C-3PO is a HOOT in this one). Chewbacca gets a bigger role (*screams loudly with joy*). Several new characters are introduced. It, too, is a super-neat film, but it seemed to go down a bit in world view.  So, that’s what I say about the Empire Strikes Back. It’s good. REALLY good. But not great. If you love the characters, the story, the world, and science-fiction, then go ahead and watch the next. But be careful, because it ends on a cliff hanger of sorts and makes you want to watch the next one, which is dangerous because of the immodesty. . . . so beware of that (I myself can hardly wait till we get the permission to watch the next one..which we’ll have to watch without Dad). As Kayla likes to say, “Leia went from a dress, to pants, to . . . ” (everyone knows that in Return of the Jedi, she’s pretty much in her underwear!) I’m pretty sure the three films will go from great, to good, to … gross; what with the modesty issue. But besides the things I mentioned above, The Empire Strikes Back is a really good movie too!

So, I’m completely in lightyear-speed right now over this new wonderful world of special effects, light saber fights, handsome heroes and great fun.

I just had to tell you about it!

And thank you for putting up with my fan-girl drool. I’ll shut up now before you reach over and switch me off like Leia did to C-3PO . . . .

Left to Right: Ford (Han) I'm guessing Anthony Daniels (C-3PO) also guessing Peter Mayhew (Chewie), Mark Hamill (Luke), Carrie Fisher (Leia), and Kenny Baker (R2-D2). Thanks for being my favorite movie characters!

One more! *giggles* I’m doomed.

Luke, Leia and that certian dashing young man who has that wonderful fuzzy creature for a co-piolet. I'm in LOVE! *GIGGLES* Okay, you all know me well enough to know that I am NOT in love with Han Solo and that I was saying that to be funny. *giggles some more* Of corse, if you knew that, why do I have to explain? *Giggles again* Let's make it clear: I'm not in love with Han Solo! *Giggles really hard* Just with his Wookie! *laughs harder* And, I just think it funny that so many girls just LOVE Han Solo; but with me, I'm more for the Wookie. You know. Give a bunch girls a picture of the two, and they go bananas over Han. Give me the picture, and I'll say, "It's CHEWIE!" *roars with laughter* I'm so weird! Okay; I got to stop if I want to keep breathing!!

~Jamie Joyce

22 thoughts on “Guess Where I Am?

  1. Great post! I like Star Wars too. People who haven’t seen these and are going to had better not read this… you spoiled some really good parts. Ha, ha! Let me say I have issues with Luke, with Han, with Ben, with Yoda, with Darth Vadar, and yes I have BIG issues with the Princess. ( I have NO issues with C-3PO, I think he’s my favorite character probably.) But I also love Luke, Han, Ben, the Princess- I don’t like Vadar and I don’t think I like Yoda really. I didn’t like Chewy in the first one too much but I liked him alot better after he was rescueing my favorite character! About that last picture- You had better stop if you want to keep breathing! I am getting tiered of all the slobber I see on the computer screen whether it’s chewy or someone else!!!! I may try a Vadar trick on you… (My favorite human is probably Liea. I surprised myself!)

  2. And you are NOT so wierd about that last one! It’s those other gals who are nuts!
    Think about it! Chewy has character: He’s brave, loyal, courageous, and uh, big. I guess that’s not a virtue but it’s still handy. Sure Han may look nice, but he’s also rude, self conceited, proud, flirty and he’s not exactly part of the gang of good guys.

  3. LOL, You are so right about Chewie. Han: once you look past his great smile, and nice hair and the fact that he’s saved everyone’s lives; he is pretty rotten in character. *giggle* And everyone is NUTS about him. Folks, he was voted for number one character back in the day before the prequeal series was made. All I can say is….”Whaa!”

    Then everyone went bananas over Anakin; and he’s so grouchy looking…

    ~Jamie Joyce

  4. Okay, so where do I start?…

    I guess I’ll e-mail you my reply, or it might take a really long comment…

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  5. ^^^ARRRGG!!! You better stop talking about Han! Maybe you like Chewy cause he belongs to Solo. Hmm?
    I also thought it was nice to see a female who was able to self defend herself!

  6. Alright… well… I’m going to shock you by saying that I can hardly stand C-3PO… He is such a whiner that he drives me nuts!! Han Solo is alright… he’s better in “The Return of the Jedi”. I like him best there, though he’s funny at other times. Hmm… Leia. I like her alright too – she’s a bit feministic, but at the same time, she’s certainly got her likable side. And she’s got her reasons for being bossy – afterall, Luke wasn’t about to take charge yet and Han Solo was just trying to get them all killed!! I think I might like her better in “Return of the Jedi” too… Not sure. Chewie? He’s likable enough, and I like his loyalty and strength – that comes in handy. He’s a little annoying sometimes though, with all his roaring. R2-D2 is great… always there when you need him! Luke is my favorite character – actually, out of all six (yes, I’ve seen them all – well, practically) Luke is probably my favorite. He’s so innocent compared to the others and… well, I can’t tell you yet, another reason I like him, because you haven’t seen the last one. I love his loyalty too, though he needed to learn to follow directions a bit better. Anakin (before he became evil) probably comes after Luke, honestly – he was a hero, in the beginning. (Oh… he’s not grouchy by the way… don’t go by pictures… He’s serious a lot – and then he joins the evil side – but grouchy is not his description! 🙂

    As to the storyline, I think it’s pretty creative. As my Dad says, the Mr. Lucas had a good imagination. I think the story could have been written better, and certainly acted better, but how a movie is acted has never really stopped me from watching a film. The worldview certainly has some problems, there I would agree, but I think we can get some good lessons from some aspects of the film, one from “The Return of the Jedi” being the most prominent in my mind right now.

    I like the score, particularly the theme song… I wish I could get my hands on at least one of the soundtracks. I would love to hear it! And I think it’s funny to watch Leia’s hair styles change from scene to scene… they’re interesting.

    Did I miss anything I should have commented on??

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  7. That’s too bad about your opinion about C-3PO. He’s great. He’s wonderful! He’s so funny! But, of course, you’re entitled to your opinion. 😀

    Hey! Chewie roars because that’s the only way he can communicate! Golly! Give my poor Wookie a break!

    Yes, Luke is one of those great heroes! He is SO like my cousin Ben it’s not even funny! Not just in looks but in deeds! It’s actually really cool when I think about it. Sometimes I think, “Man! I’m related to a Skywalker!” Yep. I’ve got a real Jedi in my family…and that’s wonderful. I LOVE YOU, BEN!

    Hey, don’t read into what I say. I didn’t say Anakin is grouchy! Come on! READ what I wrote! I said; “He’s so grouchy-looking!” By the way, I read a whole book on the making of ‘Attack of the Clones’ and I pretty much know the entire story line. Kayla and I can not stand Anakin’s short hair style. At all. I honestly love his longer hair style; he just looks so grouchy. I told Kayla; “That’s probably as close to seeing a live Rip Carmichael as we’ll ever get.” LOL

    I can’t wait to see Return of the Jedi. I just hope I don’t get too defiled by Leia’s way of dress . . . . I’m already getting headaches at the idea . . .

    What do you mean, the acting could have been better? It was acted very well; in fact, from reading that one book I mentioned, all the actors did exactly what Mr Lucus wanted them too! Almost to the ‘t’! But I suppose if you want to be unhappy with them, then be unhappy with them. Lol. But I’m not! *giggle*

    Well, take another look at it and see if you missed anything . . . 😀

    ~Jamie Joyce

  8. Yes… Dad thinks I’m crazy too… I personally think Anakin made some kind of error when he created the complainer… I do like him when he’s not complaining though.

    If humans can learn Wookie, than wookies should be able to learn English…

    Oh, so you like Luke too? From what I was seeing it was all Chewie, C-P3O or Han Solo… :p

    He does look better with more hair – at least it’s not LONG hair – it’s just more hair. :p Obi-Wan had really short hair like that in the first episode too. Oh yes, and I forgot about Obi-Wan in my list – out of all six, (since he WAS in all of them!) he actually is a rival for the top position… I really like him.

    Well, I can say about Leia’s outfit – it’s only in one part. It lasts long enough, but once it’s over, it’s over and she’s back to her normal clothes. *sighs in relief* And the character doesn’t dress that way by choice, if that makes you feel any better.

    I’m not unhappy with them, I just know that the acting could have been better. But they are way better than some things I’ve watched!

    I like Master Yoda. He’s a wise old Jedi and a great warrior… was in almost every episode. He’s a bit odd though, I confess, especially with the way he talks.

    I think that’s everything for now…

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  9. ANAKIN made C-3PO?!?!? Okay…you gotta stop saying things you know we don’t know; there is a chance that we will see the prequeal series . . . a small chance, but still it’s a chance….

    *groans and shakes head* The humans didn’t speak Wookie! They understand it, but they can’t talk it. And Chewie understands English. He just can’t speak it! What if he can’t make those vocal sounds?! Huh?! Huh?! *wink*

    DUH! Everyone loves Luke to some degree! That’s why it’s almost pointless to say he’s your favorite because he’s everyone’s favorite. Well, nearly everyones, but you should see the point…And hey, I didn’t talk that much about C-3PO. He’s KAYLA’S favorite guy, not mine. I just like to stand up for him. 😛

    I like Obi-Wan alot…he just always seems to talk about The Force and I’m very uncomfortable with The Force. . . .

    Really? That’s hard to believe because the M’s watched that one, and Mrs M told us that Leia was in that outfit for nearly 45 minutes of the film! They didn’t like that one at all. They were really giving us some warnings for that one. So I’m expecting it to be pretty bad . . .

    Oh, well, good! I didn’t think the acting was bad at all…but then again, I’m used to old movies and old acting….

    Yoda is odd to me, and again, he’s just part of The Force element in a big way, too…and I already explained that The Force is my biggest issue with Star Wars…

    ~Jamie Joyce

  10. lol I’m sorry, I thought you said you weren’t going to. And yes, he did… but 3PO’s memory was wiped, so he doesn’t remember. And I won’t say anything else…

    Then, Mr. Lucas could have made a character who didn’t sound so annoying to be the co-pilot… 😀

    Ha!

    He has to talk about the force a lot… he’s trying to train Luke to be a Jedi.

    That’s what I meant by saying “it lasts long enough”! It seems to go on (probably 30 to 40 minutes) but the movie is two or three times as long, so once it’s over, you’re safe. We actually skip about half of that part – basically just watching the parts with Luke in it and not even all of those. :p

    LOL Kayla. I suppose he does a bit – but he’s not nearly as prideful! :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  11. Thanks…It’s a small chance; small. Mom hasn’t seen them (not sure about Dad). Mrs M wanted to re-watch them herself and she was going to tell Mom her thoughts about it (Mom really trusts Mrs M’s opinion and vise-versa). So….we’ll have to see. 😀 I think I would like too, but I have a feeling that they’re probably not as good or great the first ones. Sequels normally aren’t.

    I suppose, but I found his moans and roars rather re-assuring and comforting, in my opinion. It was like hearing that you have a big beast behind you that could tare things apart to keep you safe. Very comforting. Again, it’s just my opinion. 😛

    I know…*sigh* I suppose it’s one of those “I like the character but not all that he says” kinda deals. *shrug*

    It lasts too long, not long enough, in my opinion. It’s sad they had to dress her like that…Kayla’s idea of a digital program for ‘clothing people on films’ could really be handy for that movie; then you could see the whole thing without being defiled… 😀

    LOL, no, he’s not! Thank heavens for a pro who’s not prideful! *giggles* 😀

    ~Jamie Joyce

  12. I don’t know if I would enjoy Anakin as much as Luke. Though it would be interesting to see Vadar’s beginning.

    I agree with, sis.

    I like Ben a lot.

    I think there is such a program…

    Funny how they talk like each other though I’m sure they would hate each other. I can just see Poirot now!; glaring at Yoda, at all the star wars characters in disgust. I bet Hastings and Miss Lemon would enjoy the show!

  13. LOL, Kayla! What an idea! I think Hastings would enjoy it! Poriot would probably call it ghastly or something like that. I’m not sure about Miss Lemon. But Hastings (and Japp, too!) would probably really enjoy Star Wars. *giggles profusely*

    ~Jamie Joyce

  14. Why are you always giggiling? Why don’t you hee-hee like me- or ho-ho- or tee- hee? I think it is good to have a veriety of laughs. Ha, ha!

  15. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Star Wars!!!!!
    Chewie is one of my favourite characters (along with everyone else). I have seen Narnia and Lord of the Rings but Star Wars is still one of my favs!! I have seen all of the Star wars movies and I have to agree with you at the start of Return of the Jedi with Leia (where I usually leave the room). But besides that i think it’s awesome!!!!!!!
    I like the newer movies better but that does not mean that I don’t love the 3 older ones!!! I Just simply LOVE Star wars!!!
    Yes, I’m a fan girl! But so what???????????? They ARE AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Oh!!! And I LOVE Anakin!!!! I hate it how he turns to the dark side and by the way the hairstyle he has in Attack of the Clones is what all the Padawan (apprentice Jedi) Jedi have. I hate it how people say Anakin’s terrible I simply LOVE him!!! Though I probably like his hairstyle in the third better 😀 But Anakin’s sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    He’s also very good in the Clone Wars series which I love to watch!
    My thoughts on Anakin. 😀

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

