Muffin; My Breakthrough Book


I could do these 75 revealing questions on any book or series I choose, but I would like ‘Muffin’ to be published someday, so I will ‘interview’ it first.

I call it my breakthrough book because it was when I really learned how to write loveable, funny but realistic characters and story. I also call it my breakthrough book because it is my second longest, and everyone who has read it has loved it. Good sign, I think.

1. What’s your word count?

111,265 is the word count
2. How long until you finish?
Well, first draft is finished, it is being edited now. So, maybe about 3/4th’s the way to being finished and ready for a publisher.
3. If you have finished, how long did it take you?
Well, I wrote it on and off for about two years. I stopped and gave myself maybe over a sixth month break on it. It took  a while.
4. Do you have an outline?
I did not have an outline.
5. Do you have a plot?
Yes, I have a plot. The plot is a bit complicated, and it’s a mystery story, so I can’t say much that would reveal the ending.
6. How many words do you typically write a day?
I don’t write as much now as I used to, so I really don’t know.
7. What was your greatest word count in one day?
I’ve never looked at my word count before this year of 2011.
8. What was your least impressive word count in one day?
I don’t know.
9. What inspired you to write?
Well, I started writing when I was really young simply because it was fun. Then I stopped. I started writing again at age twelve because I was in love with the ‘Encyclopedia Brown Series’. I didn’t like the way Cyc (my nickname for the kid) and Bugs (He was the leader of the Tigers, the town bullies) didn’t seem to ever reconcile. I once asked myself, ‘Wow, what would happen if Encyclopedia and Bugs ever became friends?” The question drove me to write Cyc and Bugs becoming friends with the help of a special peacemaker of my own creation . . . Zak, to those who know who he is. This story led into more stories, which led into the first versions of the Carmichaels, which eventually led to me branching off to start a new story all on it’s own—-Muffin.
10. Does your novel have a theme song?
I suppose it could. I’d have to think for a while, and file through my soundtracks.
11. Assign each of your major characters a theme song.

Well, Katie and Betty’s theme would beSecond Chances’ from Jonah because they are just as lively. Rip, Jenny and Zak all could go by Ya Got Trouble because they go just as steady as the song and can often be just as witty. Nate and Robin would defienetly go with ‘William Tell’, which is the theme song of their favorite show, ‘The Lone Ranger.’

12. Which character is most like you?
Jenny was orginally based after myself, but she’s much more kinder and keener than I am! LOL.
13. Which character would you most likely be friends with?
LOL, Jenny. Jane. Lisa. Tiffany would drive me nuts. I’d probably be great friends with all the boys. I’d probably LOVE being with Katie and Betty (it be like being with a funny Kayla, hillarious Bethany and a silly Moriah all combined into two look-alike twins)! Oh! The times we would have.
14. Do you have a Gary-Stu or Mary Sue character?
Who are they?
15. Who is your favorite character in your novel?
I love them all. I invited them.  They’re part of my brian. Zak would be one of my favorites though.
16. Have your characters ever done something completely unexpected?
A lot of stuff unexpectedly happens or my characters do or say things unexpected or unheard of a lot!
17. Have you based any of your novel directly on personal experiences?
Mmmm, definetly the relationship status of the friends are off of my status with my church friends. You know, the real close friendship; like their one big happy family (which they actually are).
18. Do you believe in plot bunnies ?
What’s a plot bunny? Does anyone know what a plot bunny is? Am I the only one? *mutters* I’ve heard of a dust bunny, but not a plot bunny.
19. Is there magic in your novel?
Ha! Nope.
20. Are any holidays celebrated in your novel?
Christmas is! It was an accident, really, but it does show up.
21. Does anyone die?
Nope. The Boss might have if Pastor Carmichael hadn’t dragged Miss Honey off of him. Every criminal deserves a mad dog on his face.
22. How many cups of coffee/tea have you consumed during your writing experience?
I don’t really drink either, and I don’t barely have room on my desk for cups.
23. What is the latest you have stayed up writing?
I normally have to be up in my room by ten, so I don’t normally stay up much later.
24. What is the best line?
It’s all good. *grin*
25. What is the worst line?
I just said, “It’s All good” *grins some more.*
26. Have you dreamed about your novel or its characters?
Not in sleep dream. Wish I could.
27. Does your novel rely heavily on allegory?
No, not this one.
28. Summarize your novel in under fifteen words.
The Carmichael’s church bands together to rescue Aunty’s kidnapped show cat from money-hungry thugs.
29. Do you love all your characters?
Yes, even the bad guys, because they make me laugh so much.
30. Have you done something sadistic or cruel to your characters specifically to increase your word count?
Like I’ve said, I’ve not looked much at my word count before, so no. I only write hard things to make the story more interesting or realistic.
31. What was the last thing your main character ate?
At the end of the book they were all eating Christmas Dinner.
32. Describe your main character in three words.
My book doesn’t really have a main character. Just characters, and many of them are as important as main characters. Some are definately more minor (take Tiffany, for instance), but they all have very important roles.
33. What would your antagonist dress up as for Halloween?
Ha, I have so many antagonists in this book. Well, The Boss wouldn’t, because he wouldn’t bother with Halloween. I could see Langston going as something horrid like Frankenstein’s monster.
34. Does anyone in your story go to a place of worship?
They all go to their church in one chapter. I think  it’s only one chapter…
35. How many romantic relationships take place in your novel?
One, between two of the street gang’s members . . . it’s a very small part in the story, but it will certainly continue in the sequel showing consequences.
36. Are there any explosions in your novel?
Yes. But if I said what exploded, it would spoil part of my climax.
37. Is there an apocalypse in your novel?
No…
38. Does your novel take place in a post-apocalyptic world?
No…
39. Are there zombies, vampires or werewolves in your novel?
Ha. No. Don’t need them when you have someone like Langston!
40. Are there witches, wizards or mythological creatures/figures in your novel?
Nope. Jest the Lone Ranger(mentioned).
41. Is anyone reincarnated?
No.
42. Is anyone physically ailed?
Nope, everyone in my book has perfect health. Well, except for the one scene where Betty was throwing the fake coughing fit….
43. Is anyone mentally ill?
Maybe the Boss..and Langston.
44. Does anyone have swine flu?
ROFL, whatta question! Whatta story that would have made. Swine flu, indeed. What do you think I’m writing? A nurse’s novel?!
45. Who has pets in your novel and what are they?
Oh, pets. They’re huge in the story. Horses. Dogs. Cats. Cats especially. With the horses there’s Sunshine, Firecloud, Lighting Blaze, Apple, Cider, Adventure, Western…I could go on. Now, with the dogs there’s Old Bark, Miss Honey, Love, Duchess and Queenie. The cats; there’s Lady Tiger, Africa, a whole variety of show cats, and of course, Muffin.
46. Are there angels, demons, or any religious references/figures in your novel?
Well, The Bible counts as a ‘religious reference’ doesn’t it?
47. How about political figures?
I think Obama was mentioned once on a bumper sticker.
48. Is there incessant drinking?
LOL, the bad guys all jug down coffee by the cup.
49. Are there board games? If so, which ones?
LOL,  . . . . . no.
50. Are there any dream sequences?
Not that I remember.
51. Is there humor?
Ohh-ho-ho! You bet there is!
52. Is there tragedy?
Uh, no. Not really.
53. Does anyone have a temper tantrum?
Betty has lots of verbal spouting about the bad guys, which is all part of the humor.
54. How many characters end up single at the end of your novel?
What does that mean? Single? They’re all unmarried (excpet for the parents).
55. Is anyone in your novel adopted?
Nope, not in this one. Next one, though.
56. Does anyone in your novel wear glasses?
I think one of the bad guys did, but I can’t remember for sure.
57. Has your novel provided insight about your life?
Sure. Life can be super hillarious if you only try to make it!
58. Your personality?
Oh, it’s all my personailty
59. Has your novel inspired anyone?
I don’t think so. It wasn’t really written for inspiring people. It was written to give people something to enjoy and laugh at. I also tried to show a picture of how families can work together on anything, even mysteries.
60. How many people have asked to read your novel?
I’m not sure how many asked, my ‘editor’ started reading my book when I started reading hers, and she read it to her three sisters, who all enjoyed it. Kayla has  heard it. Another friend of mine has asked a couple times about it and I’m hoping my cousins will read it for me too.
61. Have you drawn any of your characters?
No. I’m terrible at drawing
62. Has anyone drawn your characters for you
Kayla might have . . .
63. Does anyone vomit in your novels?
Nope.
64. Does anyone bleed in your novel?
Yep. There is a undescribed fist fight between the church boys and the street gang, there is a fight between the dogs and a bear, Miss Honey nearly kills The Boss and there might be more that I can’t remember.
65. Do any of your characters watch TV?
LOL, they watch ‘The Lone Ranger’ which is a hard thread of the story.
66. What size shoe does your main character wear?
Got no clue.
67. Do any of the characters in your novel use a computer?
Yes, the parents do during the week while they find clues about their advaseries, and Jenny sends an email to Jane near the end when they discover what the word ‘dude’ means.
68. How would you react if your novel was erased entirely?
Well, entirely from my computer, I’d probably freak out, but not really because my ‘editor’ has a copy of it on her computer (and I have a copy of her’s on mine, so we serve each other well). If it was gone from both my computer and hers, I’d probably die.
69. Did you cry at killing off any of your characters?
I haven’t killed off any yet. . . . yet . . . I will probably, because they are all mine.
70. Did you cheer when killing off one of your characters?
Considering the one I want to kill off by the end of book three. . . I just might, depending on what horrible things he does.
71. What advice would you give to a fellow writer.
I’d say to let the story flow from your head to your paper, no matter what it sounds like. I thought I had over done it with the bear, but because I added that bear fight, it will really tie in to the end of the sequeal. Things you write can always tie in.
72. Describe your ending in three words.
Triumphant, happy and crazy (it’s always crazy).
73. Are there any love triangles, squares, hexagons, etc.?
Not really. Only between the two gang members, and even that is not much.
74. On a scale of 1-10 (1 being the least stressful, 10 being the most) how does your stress pan out.

1 and maybe 3 at the highest. I wrote for enjoyment, and laughed so much during my many sibling scenes. The only time it got a little stressful was when my ‘editor’ read it to her sisters and they started gobbling up the first part I had written, so I had scamper to finish it up for them! Even then, it was really nice knowing there was someone beside my sister who was really enjoying it. In fact, I decided to continue the adventure just for them because it was reported that they were going to be disappointed when they heard the last chapter and knew it was the end. So, out came adventure two. Anyway. Save more on the sequeal for it’s own interview.

75. Was it worth it?

You bet it was!

~Jamie Joyce

4 thoughts on “Muffin; My Breakthrough Book

  1. Well… That was interesting! :p

    I don’t have a computer right now, so Kayla, I need to drop out of the first comment race. I can’t get my computer to work. *coughfaint* Yes, you read it right… I’m using Mom’s right now and I have no access to my personal e-mail, either, Jamie, so…

    You know, I did have two more chapters of my book for you to read… now we’ll see…

    See you tomorrow, Lord willing! 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

