MOHL Bible Blast


We are back from camping and unloading went way faster then any of us anticipated. I now have time to hop on here–I also realized that today is the day I’ve been planning to start the MOHL Bible Blast Challenge. You might have noticed their button at the bottom of my widgets.

I’ve never read through the entire Bible at one time. I did have a ‘read-through-in-one-year’ challange at one point; I didn’t like it for two reasons and quit in about a month. It was supposed to be dragged out for an entire year (which simply put me under the weather at the very idea). You had to read from several different books at once and I soon began to feel that I was loosing context. It also felt odd jumping from book to book or stopping smack in the middle of a psalms or a proverb.

What I’ll enjoy from this challenge is the opposite things I just mentioned above. I will be reading the Bible from the beginning straight through to the end–no jumping around. It will be completed in three months; that in it’s self was enough to immediately let me that I could handle this one, especially since I am a fast reader. When I read about it and saw the plan, I thought, “I can do this one!”

And so today I’m going to be reading Genesis 1-15. It might sound like a lot, but I understand the girls’ point when they say that we should find enough time in our day to read the Bible, which might mean cutting out things that are not as important; like computer games, surfing the internet, or wasting time on other things. Of course, I don’t want it to become a higher priority then helping Mom or Nathan or doing my other things, but it should go above other things that would count as time wasters.

I’m really excited to be doing this, and I hope you’ll all help keep me accountable. Or better yet, try to do it yourself!

~Jamie Joyce

http://meditationsofhislove.blogspot.com/2010/12/announcingbible-blast-90-day-challenge.html?action=view&current=BibleBlastimage4worange.jpg

5 thoughts on “MOHL Bible Blast

  1. Good for you! I’m loving my Bible-in-a-Year plan and I’m sure you’ll love reading the Bible in three months! I’m so busy right now that though I did actually consider the three-month plan, I knew I wouldn’t be able to follow through with it, fast reader or not. Like what you said, Mom, my sisters, my brother and even my Dad need a lot of my help right now and so it just wouldn’t be manageable. I’ve never read the books in the Bible this fast before though and I’m just loving it!! 🙂

    (By the way – the plan I’m doing isn’t reading from several books at once, or stopping in the middle of chapters – that DOES sound a little annoying. I think there might be a couple months where we’re reading from two different books, but it’s all just chronological. :D)

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  2. Ha! Thanks! That is soo weird!! I was wondering what was going on last night!! I thought I was going to have to give up the first comment to Kayla! :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

