Days 25 and 26


Day 25: A recipe: Here is one of my top favorite desserts! Fool’s Toffee.

Saltine Crackers–enough to line the bottom of a large cookie sheet

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup real butter

1 pkg of chocolate chips ( we use dark chocolate)

Line a large cookie sheet with foil. Line the bottom with the saltines crackers, butted up against each other tightly. Combine butter and brown sugar in saucepan. Stir continually while one medium heat. When the mixture comes to a boil, boil for exactly 4 minutes (and exactly means exactly). Quickly pour over crackers. Bake in the oven at 375 degrees for 5 minutes. Take out and pour chips over it. When the chips turn glossy or have melted, spread with spatula. Put in freezer until hardened. Break apart. EAT. Keeps better in fridge or freezer. Sorry I couldn’t find a picture!

Day 26: A childhood memory: I have a childhood memory that has been repeated over and over; and that was our annual trip each October to Young’s Farm with the Cousins. We had been going since I was three (maybe younger) and we went up till the Farm closed, which was just a disastor for us. The last time I went, I was about 11. Everything about our annual trip was wonderful. The hay rides. The pony rides. The pumpkins. The obstucule courses.  The petting zoo. The CORN MAZE was an absolute favorite. Us cousins would run into the maze and try to find our way out on our own, and Dad and Uncle David would chase us, or jump out at us. We’d run off screaming our heads off. Some of the most hilarious family footage we have over all the years is all the home video of the guys jumping out at us four and seeing our expressions as we screamed and fled (nearly mowing other people over in the process). I have posts planned for this topic so you can find out more details!

Kayla (age four)

~Jamie Joyce

5 thoughts on “Days 25 and 26

  1. Awww! Kayla is so cute!! :D

    I don’t make Toffee like that… I make “Professional Toffee” instead… :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  2. ^You would say so, Kayla… I don’t think you have ever had MY toffee though! It’s pretty good, I promise!! :D

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  3. ^It maybe very good, but as of right now, since I haven’t had your toffee, I like ours better! (tee hee) I would like to try it.

Leave me a comment; it always makes my day! :) Make sure to come back later, as I normally respond!

