I’m a winner!


abstract-19616_640_Fotor_Fotor - CopyI didn’t plan on posting anything today but this can’t wait! Do you remember this blog post about this short story which I entered into the Booktrack contest? Well, I just found out today that my story is one of the top winners–Unearthed Magic, which is only about 300 words long, won a cash prize!!

DO YOU KNOW HOW EXCITED I AM????!!!!! I couldn’t believe it when I saw the list of winners, I kept thinking, “Did I really win? No way, this must be a mistake” until I got a private email with a private congratulations!

I’M ECSTATIC RIGHT NOW BECAUSE THIS MEANS SO MUCH TO ME. I CAN’T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I ACTUALLY WON SOMETHING. AND THIS IS TWICE AS SPECIAL BECAUSE I WON SOMETHING DOING WHAT I LOVE. PUBLISHING A STORY–BUT WITH MUSIC! SOMEWHERE IN THE WORLD, I AM A SUCCESS.

I’m bouncing off the walls over here; I just needed to pause to blog this about this so when I get frustrated with myself and my writing in the future, I can come back here and remember that I do have the capability to succeed because I did it today!

Of course I can’t end this without linking back to my story; so here it is! (remember, if it doesn’t work then you might need to open it on Google Chrome.) If you excuse me I’m going to run about my house before I explode here on my chair!

~Jamie

 

16 thoughts on “I’m a winner!

  1. YES! YES! My sister, when I turned around and read news this to her, she got so excited that she started to jump up and dance, nearly sending the cat in her lap flying! :D :D Then we both joined you in bouncing off the {virtual} walls!
    And her first words? “I knew she could do it!”
    Jamie, we are both so happy for you!!!
    That is Just. Awesome! And you earned it with your word-craft.
    Like some wise person said, writers are the ones who give us the words for what everyone experiences.
    As I read, I could feel *something* happening under my own hand as I pictured my palm resting on the cover of that strange, magic book! Now that is descriptive writing!!!!!
    Keep on celebrating, this is worth getting excited about! :D :D {I need bigger smiley faces!}

    • GAH, THANKS FOR CELEBRATING WITH ME THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY MY SMILE IS READY TO FALL OFF MY FACE! :D

      Wow, that is so awesome! Thanks for reading it and giving me feedback; it’s one of my favorite things. I’m glad I was able to pull off all the descriptive writing! :D

      I shall be celebrating all week, easily! Thanks for your special comment, it made me smile so big!

      ~Jamie

  2. CONGRATULATIONS CONGRATULATIONS CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!! That’s awesome! Oh, I’m so happy for you! Isn’t it wonderful knowing that all that hard work paid off?

    P.S. On a completely unrelated note: did you hear? They’re releasing the teaser trailer for Captain America 2 tomorrow!!!!!

    • THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! You are so right, hard working paying off is the best feeling!!

      I did hear about that and I’m dying to see it! And they’ve released a date for Sherlock Season Three to air next January! GAH MY LIFE FEELS SO COMPLETE RIGHT NOW! lol!

      ~Jamie

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Wow, that is quite a feat!!

    I haven’t read it yet; it doesn’t load on my Mac and life got really busy right after I saw your post :( Now, I will GO WATCH IT ON THE DESKTOP IMMEDIATELY.

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! :D :D That is beyond awesome! I am so happy for you! :) I am so glad to hear that I am not the only one who thought it was amazing! But that so cool. When you become a famous author I can say I knew you before you where famous. ;)

    -James

    • THANK YOU!!!!!!!! :D :D I am also glad you are not the only one who thought it was amazing, lol, but thank you for enjoying before it was a ‘big deal'; that means a lot to me! Yeah, you will totally be able to say that!!! Hahahaha! :D

      ~Jamie

Leave me a comment; it always makes my day! :) Make sure to come back later, as I normally respond!

