Remembering


It’s a funny thing… how things happen… and than they suddenly become nothing but a faint memory. How something that meant so much now seems so long forgotten. What feels the worst is when I think that I’m the only one to remember. Do they think of me? Am I a gaping hole in their lives or do they hardly miss me at all because I never was anything to them in the first place? Does life feel funny for them like it does for me? I often don’t think so. And I often think they don’t remember either. For some people, I’ve only not seen them for several months, but others… for years. And I always wonder… how much they really notice.

However, when it comes to family, it’s a little different

My cousin Ben, my childhood best friend of ten years, graduated from high school this past week. Mom took Kayla and I to go see him; I was quite proud of him. After he’d gotten his diploma and the ceremony was over, the three of us found Uncle David and we found him together, being joined by old time friends. I ran to hug him… if I wasn’t as tall as I already am, I would’ve had to stand on tip toe to wrap my arm around his neck. He stands six feet tall and I’m quite jealous of his height; we’d always been the same size growing up. He’s been taller than me for over four years now, but I really felt it standing next to him as he explained he’d be studying criminal justice in college– my favorite thing ever. We only stayed a few minutes but it was good to see him.

In the car ride home, Kayla, Mom and I got to talking the ‘remember whens’. Because, honestly, I spent my entire childhood with Kayla, Ben and his younger sister Bethany. My entire childhood. He was my best friend since we’d learned to talk.  But I wondered if he and Bethany still remembered the countless hours we’d spent together…. because really, our families never see each other anymore. Ever. But mom said differently. She commented on something Kayla said, about how cool ‘cousins’ were. And she said the four of us, no matter how far apart we would drift, would always be able to come back together. Because we were family. And I felt hopeful.

I’m excited to see the future that God has written for us. But for now, I’ll be content with remembering…

Me, Kayla, Bethany and Ben on the beach approx. around 2004

~Jamie

7 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. Oh, I know how that is, Jamie…I watched my best friend and one of my own cousins graduate a few weeks ago and I was thinking very similar thoughts. It’s exciting to wonder what the future will hold, but sometimes it *is* nice to just sit back and think of all the memories we’ll cherish for the rest of our lives.

  2. One of my cousins graduated this last week too. Only, of course, he’s four years younger than me. It’s amazing to me to realize he’s eighteen! Really. I often still picture him as the little eight year old, who I thought was one of the cutest little kids on the planet. :p

    Memories are a good thing. I’m glad you have good memories with your cousins. :)

    (Waiting… waiting… you know what I’m waiting for… ;)

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    • LOL, actually, I think I already knew that because Kayla told me when we were on our way that you guys were doing the exact same thing! :P

      (Yes! Yes! By the way, tomorrow I’m seeing Ashley B! Do you have any message you want to pass on? Sadly, their leaving for Tennessee on Wednesday already! :( )

      ~Jamie

  3. OOOOHHHH CUTE PICTURE OF US! It’s us! It’s us! Ohh look at me and Bethany! Awww how cute! XDD LOL!

    Sawry, I’m remembering too though. :’)

Leave me a comment; it always makes my day! :) Make sure to come back later, as I normally respond!

