Singing the Songs . . .


I don’t know about you, but Kayla and I like to sing. Not your normal artist songs; oh no. We sing musicals. We can go back on forth with songs from ‘The Music Man’ like there was no tomorrow. Have I ever mentioned I have the entire song ‘Ya Got Trouble’ memorized? We like singing ‘Oklahoma’ and ‘Fiddler On the Roof’. But now we’re singing something new… have you guessed from the picture? Yes, it’s ‘Beauty and the Beast’. The songs are some of the best and the melodies are so catchy and beautiful that I never mind it if one of them gets stuck in my head.

WARNING: If you are not one for reading song words and reading about a film score, skip this post…unless you love pictures. I have lots of pictures for this post. So, for all you music/score lovers out there, you might enjoy reading my thoughts. I might convince you to even find a copy of it for your own. And get the movie while you are at it.  :D Let’s begin.

The song ‘Belle’ is one of my favorites. “Little town; it’s a quiet village. Everyday like the one before. Little town with the little people. Waking up to say . . . .”

Towns people “Look, there she goes, the girl who’s strange no question. Dazed and distracted, can’t you tell? With a dreamy far off look, and her nose stuck in a book. A beauty but a funny girl, is Belle

Belle “Now isn’t this amazing? It’s my favorite part because you’ll see. Here’s where she meets Prince Charming. But she won’t discover that it’s him ’till chapter three.”

Kayla and I don’t like ‘Gaston’, but the song is very catchy, and we normally sing the words we know, ju st because it’s fun. I can’t remember most of the words right now, but it’s might as well; as it’s pretty much the towns people singing about how great he is *rolls eyes* “When I was a lad I ate four dozen eggs each morning to help me get large. And when I was grown I ate five dozen eggs so that now I’m the size of a barge!” Kayla was unimpressed at the amount of five dozen eggs.

And then, of course, the famous ‘Be Our Guest’. Kayla sang that song for weeks on end after watching the film. Probably had it on repeat on the computer. I don’t have a single picture from it, but it’s one of the best, so if you haven’t seen it, even in a long time, go find it on YouTube. It’s worth the watch. And the words are hilarious. (See this song on my playlist!)

Candlestick “Come on and fold your menu, take a glance and then you’ll be our guest; if you’re stressed, it’s fine dinning we suggest. Be our guest! Be our guest! Be our guest!”

Candlestick “Life is so unnerving for a servant who’s not serving. He’s not whole without a soul to wait upon. Ah, those good old days when we were useful. Suddenly, those good old days are gone. Ten years we’ve been rusty, needing so much more than dusting. Needing excercise, a chance to use our skill. Most days we just lay around the castle. Round and fat and lazy, you walked in and oopsie-daisy!”

Candlestick and kitchenware “Course by course, one by one, till you shout, ‘Enough, I’m done!’ Then we’ll sing you off to sleep as you digest. . .”

“Be our guest! Be our guest! Please by our guuuuuueeesst!” *Fireworks, cheers, and spouting champagne.” Okay. Go find the song. :D It’s good.

If I’m remembering right, the next song was ‘Something There’. I hadn’t realized that I had nearly the whole thing memorized, nor that it was really a very sweet song.

Belle: “There’s something sweet. And almost kind. But he was mean, and he was coarse and unrefined. But now he’s dear and so, I’m sure, I wonder why I didn’t see it there before.”

Beast: “She glanced this way, I thought I saw. And when we touched she didn’t shudder at my paw. What we can be, I’ll just ignore. But then she’s never looked at me that way before.”

Belle New and a bit alarming who had every thought that this could be. True that he’s no Prince Charming, but there’s something in him that I simply didn’t.”

Servants:

“Well, who’d have thought?”

“Well, bless my soul.”

“Well who’d have known?”

“Well, who indeed?”

“And who’d have guessed they’d come together on their own?”

“It’s so piculiar.”

“We’ll wait a see a few days more. There may be something there that wasn’t there something.”

Cogsworth: “Well, perhaps there is something there that wasn’t there before.”

And most certainly, ‘Beauty and the Beast’ its self. While I don’t swoon over it like some people, it is beautiful.

“Tale as old as time, true as it can be. Barely even friends, then somebody bends, unexpectedly. Just a little change, small to say the least. Both a little scared, neither one prepared; Beauty and the beast. Ever just the same, ever a surprise, ever as before, ever just as sure as the sun will rise. Tale as old as time. Tune as old as sung. Bitter, sweet and strange, finding you can change, learning you were wrong. Certain as the sun rising in the east, tale as old as time, sung as old as rhyme, beauty and the beast. Tale as old as time, sung as old as rhyme, beauty and the beast.”

The only other song I can remember now is ‘The Mob Song’, which is Gaston plotting the Beast’s doom. Kayla insists that it is a well written song and it does drum up the feeling of danger coming. But, how can I end on that one? Besides, we don’t sing it.

I can’t end this without giving my commentary on the soundtrack its self. I love how everyone’s themes come out in the background music. You can tell in the some of the later track who exactly is being shown on-screen by the theme playing. My most favorite theme is Beast’s, though, even if he doesn’t have a song. It is the music played during the prologue, which is one of my most favorite tracks of the whole thing!

The track ‘To The Fair’ has Belle’s theme sprinkled through it; and a distinct little diddle for her eccentric but very loving father.

The track ‘West Wing’ is obviously when Belle went into the room and discovered the mirror and shreds of evidence that human people once roamed the halls, not house hold items and talking creature. It has a very mysterious theme to it that gives one an uneasy feeling. Beasts’ theme is in this one, especially when she finds his torn portrait.The theme ‘Beauty and the Beast’ plays just slightly when she find the rose. And then the whole thing escalates when the Beast finds her checking it out. It’s a very powerful track, it really helps tell the story. You can tell what is going just by listening to it, which is so cool, I think.

The next track is ‘The Beast Let’s Belle Go’. It’s their theme of course. Torturous and sad, but more beautiful than words can describe.

‘Battle on the Tower’ is the big climatic fight. The themes for Gaston, the Beast, Belle and the servants’ theme (Be Our Guest) all blend together. It’s a very awesome track; the first half is energetic, considering its the servants attacking the attackers! The last half is the fight between Beast and Gaston; climatic, frightening, and moving.

And the last, “Transformations”. It takes a whole film to finally build it up to the climatic moment with the beast becomes a man because he learned to love someone other than himself. The whole thing twists from doom to wonderous shock to joyous ending (where I always shed a happy tear; I’m not ashamed to admit.)  This is my favorite track. It will be yours too when you hear it. :D

So, I suppose that closes my post of the songs and music from ‘Beauty and the Beast’. It almost feels like a pay-back post for all those annoying ‘Tangled’ posts out there. I say annoying because I haven’t watched the film, and I will not be able to either. Besides, I feel rather sorry that the old rustic animation is going out of style. It’s really more nice then all the softer, 3D looking characters, even if they seem to stand out and move like they’re real, not just cartoons. In my last post, didn’t I say we were old school? Here’s more proof. I can’t watch ‘Tangled’. But I can watch ‘Beauty and the Beast’. I can’t fall in love with Flynn Rider. But I can love the Beast. I can’t watch Rupunzle have her dreams come true. But I can watch Belle find hers . . . . I think I like being old-school. :D

So, hopefully you now all remember the great songs that we  sing; great tunes we now hum. I’m planning on purchasing the soundtrack for my very own. It will be the best. I will write my name on it . With a sharpie. And put it on my shelf. It will be my favorite. Next to Ben-Hur, of course. End. Of. Story.

~Jamie Joyce

2 thoughts on “Singing the Songs . . .

  1. Pingback: Disney Princess Tag « Through Two Blue Eyes

Leave me a comment; it always makes my day! :) Make sure to come back later, as I normally respond!

