Day 5


Day 5: A favorite quote:

I have a few quotes. Some are just favorites, and two are on writing.

“Ah! I’ve been kissed by a dog! I’ve got dog germs! Somebody get some hot water! Somebody get some disinfected! Get some antidote!” Lucy, from ‘Charlie Brown’s Christmas’. Hilarious. The way some people go on…

There’s no such thing as a good gun. There’s no such thing as a bad gun. A gun in the hands of a bad man is a very dangerous thing. A gun in the hands of a good person is no danger to anyone except the bad guys” ~ Charlton Heston

The story is not about what happens, but the character to whom it happens.” Peter Rubie, from ‘The Element of Storytelling’. I’ve learned from both reading and writing fiction that deep, entertaining characters is what makes people want more of the story. It’s not because of the problems and solutions in the story. It’s because of the characters. Same with movies. Why do I like ‘Captain Blood’, ‘Iron Will’ and Charlie Chan with his horde of kids? It’s because they are interesting, unique, lovable, entertaining, and deep.

“Never write description. Description implies stopping the story to write colorful stuff. Instead, create powerful imagery.” James Smith Jr, from his book, ‘The Writer’s Little Helper’. I couldn’t have said it better. Since I started writing about four years ago, I quickly figured out that long description was both boring to read and boring to write.  I also quickly figured out that the best way to incorporate description was in bringing it out in pieces while coupling it with the action. Show what is only necessary and the reader won’t miss out on anything.

Both of the writing quotes above hit me with a clarity that I liked and understood. They are things that I want to remember as I move forward in writing.

~Jamie Joyce

2 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Good Quotes. I like the gun one and agree/disagree with the one on description. I hate long and boring descriptions in books…. short descriptions are fine.

Leave me a comment; it always makes my day! :) Make sure to come back later, as I normally respond!

